Skip to content
  • N(north points to the lower right; the map looks uphill from the base, as a trail map does)
ColoradoSan Juan MountainsRocky Mountains

Purgatory Resort

Mountain

How big it is and what the skiing is like, each figure with its U.S. rank.

Lifts: the count the resort advertises; resorts differ on whether surface lifts and carpets are in it.

Terrain · the resort’s own difficulty mix

· ·

Beginner
Intermediate
Advanced + expert

Purgatory Resort publishes three levels, so its top share counts advanced and expert terrain together. · .

Snow and weather

The National Weather Service forecast for the summit and the base, and the snowpack measured nearby. Live: each figure gives its source and time.

Trail map

Season not stated · artist not stated

Getting there

Durango–La Plata County (DRO) 50 min · Albuquerque International (ABQ) 4 h 36 min

Photos

No photographs of Purgatory Resort that we may republish yet.More photos· Google Images

Passes, rankings and every number

Each row says what it holds; open one for the figures and their sources.

Passes

Power (unlimited)Power (unlimited)
  • Power PassUnlimited
    Power Pass 2026/2027: Unlimited skiing and riding at all 10 Power Pass mountains—no blackout dates, ever.source

Rankings

16 — #25 base16 — #25 base, #27 top lift, #30 summit in the U.S.

Position among the resorts with a figure; national rank first, state rank second.

All numbers

all 23all 23, in one list

Sources

23 observations from 4 publishers