Mountain
How big it is and what the skiing is like, each figure with its U.S. rank.
Lifts: the count the resort advertises; resorts differ on whether surface lifts and carpets are in it.
Terrain · the resort’s own difficulty mix
· ·
- Beginner
- Intermediate
- Advanced + expert
Winterplace publishes three levels, so its top share counts advanced and expert terrain together. · · .
Snow and weather
The National Weather Service forecast for the mountain. Live: each figure gives its source and time.
Webcams
Winterplace shows its webcams on its own site
Its cameras play only on its own page.
Trail map
Season not stated · artist not stated
Seen as a trail map shows a mountain: from the base looking uphill, the ground tilted up (heights ×1.5); the arrow points north and the scale holds across the page. Runs and lifts as OpenStreetMap's contributors have mapped them, on the ground from USGS elevation data, with a stronger contour every 200 ft. The key counts the lines OpenStreetMap draws, not the resort's runs; bowls and glades mapped as areas are a faint fill in their difficulty's color.
Getting there
West Virginia International Yeager (CRW) 1 h 27 min · Piedmont Triad International (GSO) 2 h 41 min
Photos
Photographs of the ski area we may republish, each credited to its photographer. Open one to see it whole.
Passes
The multi-resort passes Winterplace is on, and what each gives here.
Indy Pass
2 daysIndy Pass: two all-day or night lift tickets at each partner resort (Indy Base has blackout dates; Indy+ has none).
Rankings
Where Winterplace stands among the U.S. resorts with each figure, and within West Virginia.
- Summit elevation#173 U.S., outside the top 100of 342#4 of 4 in West Virginia
- Highest lift-served elevation#188 U.S., outside the top 100of 471#2 of 3 in West Virginia
- Base elevation#150 U.S., outside the top 100of 317#3 of 3 in West Virginia
- Advertised vertical drop#239 U.S., outside the top 100of 390#4 of 4 in West Virginia
- Lift-served vertical#216 U.S., outside the top 100of 305
- Skiable acres#241 U.S., outside the top 100of 319#4 of 4 in West Virginia
- Named trails#191 U.S., outside the top 100of 352#2 of 4 in West Virginia
- Longest run#107 U.S., outside the top 100of 181#2 of 3 in West Virginia
- Advanced + expert terrain#154 U.S., outside the top 100of 209#2 of 2 in West Virginia
- Beginner runs#90 U.S., top 100of 209#1 of 2 in West Virginia
- Total lifts#89 U.S., top 100of 480#1 of 4 in West Virginia
- Uphill capacity#38 U.S., top 50of 81#2 of 3 in West Virginia
- Average annual snowfall#191 U.S., outside the top 100of 253#4 of 4 in West Virginia
- Airport drive#381 U.S., outside the top 100of 506#2 of 5 in West Virginia
- Big airport drive#413 U.S., outside the top 100of 505#4 of 5 in West Virginia
- Closest airport drive#406 U.S., outside the top 100of 507#2 of 5 in West Virginia
Sources
Every figure on this page in one list, and the pages behind each.
